4 AWS Certification Levels that You Must Know About

Cloud computing, aka the “cloud,” has become increasingly popular. As a result, there is a rise in people seeking cloud computing certifications. Certifications help you to advance your IT career. In the arena of cloud computing, AWS (Amazon Web Services) takes the lion’s share of cloud computing platforms on the planet, with over 100 services. There are a variety of AWS certifications, each one providing you with a different level of knowledge. This post will discuss the different levels of certifications that every IT professional needs to know.

a. AWS Foundational Level

The most basic certification offered by the AWS certification path is the foundational level. It is designed for people just starting in the cloud who need a basic understanding of the AWS ecosystem. It is also an excellent choice for anyone interested in learning about general concepts of cloud computing. Although experience is not a requirement for this exam, six months of industrial experience in cloud systems is highly recommendable.

You can expect to cover architectural principles, basic cloud concepts, security, support, pricing models, compliance, and cloud infrastructure. This level has only one exam, AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner. Passing the exam will provide you with a solid foundation for more advanced certifications. The exam format is multiple choice questions and lasts 90 minutes. We have enough resources to assist you in revising and excel in the paper.

b. AWS Associate Level

The AWS Associate level is a higher level of the foundational level. This level is for IT professionals with at least one year of problem-solving and implementation of cloud services. Your familiarity with AWS Management Console and AWS Command Line Interface (CLI) is critical to understanding the concepts.

You need to study a broad range of topics, including serverless computing, databases, and networking. You can expect to find the following topics covered in the Associate level exams: fundamentals of cloud computing, networking, operating systems, application development, security, and troubleshooting. The following are the exams available for this level:

• AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate (SAA-C02)
• AWS Certified Developer – Associate
• AWS Certified SysOps Administrator – Associate

The exams take a maximum of 130 minutes and assume multiple questions and answers format. The examinations are available online so that you can study from the comfort of your own home or office. It is vital to prepare sufficiently since the exam’s difficulty level is higher than the foundational level.

c. AWS Professional Level

The AWS Professional level is an advanced certification for cloud computing experts who want to move into leadership positions. It requires a deep knowledge of all AWS services, including security and operations, focusing on advanced deployment and design. Earning the AWS Professional certification demonstrates mastery in structure, function, and troubleshooting of AWS systems.

It is mandatory to have at least two years of professional experience in offering cloud solutions and an associate-level certification to enrol for the exams. There are two certifications in this level, AWS Certified DevOps Engineer & AWS Certified Solutions Architect. The exams assume multiple-choice or response formats and usually take 180 minutes to complete.

d. AWS Specialty Level

The AWS Specialty level is for experts and senior engineers who have built large-scale AWS deployments. Professionals must have the experience and knowledge to manage and oversee complex AWS services’ design, development, and delivery. Earning the AWS Specialty certification demonstrates mastery of the core competencies for managing high-value AWS services.

It is required to have two years of IT experience in the AWS field and a professional-level certification to enrol for the exams. The various exams require different kinds of mastery in multiple areas and allow professionals to earn deep knowledge in the said fields. For example, AWS Certified Data Analytics – Specialty impacts you with lots of expertise in extracting valuable information from big data. On the other hand, AWS Certified Database – Specialty helps you optimize and gain value from database integration and architecture.

The exams assume multiple-choice or response formats and usually take 180 minutes to complete.

The five exams in this level are:
AWS Certified Advanced Networking – Specialty
• AWS Certified Security – Specialty
• AWS Certified Machine Learning – Specialty
• AWS Certified Database – Specialty
• AWS Certified Data Analytics – Specialty

Benefits of AWS Certification

– Broaden your knowledge and improve your employability
– Better performance at work
– Widens your IT networks
– Helps to maintain a high level of productivity
– It improves company reputation


If you want to build a solid foundation for a career, AWS certifications are a great way to get started. You’ll make the knowledge and experience needed to design, deploy, and manage cutting-edge AWS services. However, understanding various levels will help you know where you stand in expertise and what lies ahead. The above post explains the multiple levels you need to know to set out for the AWS certification career path.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button